beautyandthebeast12

Sit down, buckle up and enjoy the ride

Rest Your Soles and Remove Your Shoes….like it or not.

with 2 comments

Have you ever stopped to think about all of things you walk through on a daily basis?   In your yard, on your way into the office, on your jog or walk, in the mall, in restaurants, and on and on?  Now think about all of the things that you have stepped on in those places being tracked into your house on the bottom of your shoes.  YUCK! Right?

As a self- professed  neat freak at times, my preference is for no shoes to be worn in my home.  It isn’t because I am uptight and do not desire to be comfortable, but because it seems to me to be the only healthy choice.  It is also because we  have white carpeting in our home that I try my best to preserve.   Yes, that was my choice to pick white carpeting, but it is, after all, my home, is it not?

Many argue that homeowners who ask guests  to remove their shoes are not good hosts and hostesses.  I do not agree with this line of thinking at all.   Since when do I have to sacrifice the things that we pay for to prove that I want my guests to be comfortable?  I have heard it said that people who expect guests to remove their shoes are more concerned about their ” precious floors” than the comfort of their guests.  Again, I say, is it not my home and is it not my hard work that goes into maintaining my home?  If my guests want to wear shoes in their homes, that is their prerogative.

A week or so ago, I had  just gotten done washing my black and white, fake marble kitchen floor on my hands and knees.  An unexpected guest came to my door and even though a sweeper, and a bucket, and a bottle of cleaning product was right there in plain sight, this person proceeded to walk across my freshly washed and barely dry kitchen floor wearing an old pair of shoes on his feet  that he had been wearing while working in the  muddy and animal poop – filled woods.  Who is acting rudely in this scenario?  I never said a word, I just put on a fake smile and gritted my teeth while shaking my head and wondered how someone could be so clueless and rude.

I have made signs that say, ” Rest Your Soles and Remove Your Shoes” for each of  my doors, but they keep falling off of the hooks from which they each hang.  Sooner or later, I will devise a way to display these signs so that guests will understand what is expected of them.

Are there more important things in life than this debate? Sure there is.  I just feel that it comes down to respect and common courtesy.

My home -my choice.  End of story. Image

Written by andygetsreal

April 2, 2012 at 7:20 PM

Posted in No Category

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s a common courtesy to take off your shoes when visiting. We take off our shoes at the door as do our guests. We wear slippers and many of our visitors bring thier slippers with them to change into when they arrive. This is a standard practice where we live.

    Kira

    June 23, 2012 at 1:10 AM

  2. You are so right about this. There is absolutely nothing wrong with insisting on shoes off.

    I have an whole blog on this subject: Shoes Off at the Door, Please you might like to take a look

    Matthew C

    June 22, 2012 at 9:46 AM


Leave a Reply

